chat loading...

Library Card Policy

Overview

The Pikes Peak Library District (PPLD) is committed to providing equitable access to materials and to maintaining ease and efficiency in loaning materials.

A PPLD library card may be obtained and used at any PPLD facility. The initial card is free and a replacement fee of $1.00 is charged for lost cards. The card may be loaned to another individual to use. However, any fines or fees remain the responsibility of the person who signed the card until the card is reported lost or stolen. Library cards are issued for three years. At the end of three years, card holders may renew their cards for an additional three years by providing a photo ID and updating contact information.

Types of Library Cards

  • Resident Card

    A Resident Card, or regular library card, is issued to any resident or property owner of El Paso County (excluding residents of Security-Widefield). The card may be used to borrow materials from PPLD's collection, as well as for a variety of other services. The loan period for most items is 3 weeks with two renewals if the items are not on hold for another borrower. Certain collections may have different check-out limits and/or loan periods.

  • Colorado Library Card (700 card)

    The Colorado Library Card (CLC) program involves a network of libraries throughout the state. State residents may obtain library cards at any participating library. A PPLD 700 series card will be issued with full borrowing privileges, save for Interlibrary Loans. However, access to certain licensed databases is only available to CLC cardholders at PPLD facilities.

  • Business/School/Organization Card (BSO)

    A business, school, or organization is an entity with a charter, incorporation and/or legal establishment within the Pikes Peak Library District. A member of a business, school, or organization may be issued up to three library cards that may be used by any member of the entity. A person in charge of the operation of the entity must agree to be responsible for transactions, fines, and fees incurred on the card. The loan period for most items is 3 weeks with two renewals if the items are not on hold for another borrower. Certain collections may have different check-out limits and/or loan periods.

  • Visitor Card (VI)

    A visitor card may be issued to anyone who is not a resident of Colorado. A picture ID is required with a refundable deposit of $50.00. A PPLD 700 series card will be issued with a checkout limit of three items. The loan period for most items is 3 weeks with two renewals if the items are not on hold for another borrower. Certain collections may have different check-out limits and/or loan periods. The card expires in three months, but may be extended an additional three months if requested by the patron. The deposit of $50.00 is refunded provided all transactions have been cleared from the card.

  • Homebound Patrons (HB)

    Extended loan periods are provided to patrons who are physically incapacitated and unable to visit the Library. The loan period for most items is 90 days with no renewals. Certain collections may have different check-out limits and/or loan periods.

Identification Requirements

  1. To protect both individuals and the Library’s collection of materials, eligible patrons must present valid identification before a library card will be issued.
  2. An adult is asked to furnish picture identification and verification of name, current street address, and signature. A Matrícula Consular ID card is not an allowable form of identification.
  3. An adult who presents an acceptable ID but who is unable to verify address may be issued a card. Until address is verified, the patron will be allowed a one-time check out of three items. The card will be blocked until verification of current address.
  4. A minor accompanied by a parent/guardian may be issued a card upon presentation of PPLD library card or alternate verification of address from the parent/guardian. If parent does not have verification of address, card will then be blocked.
  5. A minor unaccompanied by an adult may be issued a card. The minor will be allowed a one-time check out of three items. The card will be blocked until verification of address. A welcome letter from the Library Director and the library card will be mailed to notify the parent/guardian that a card has been obtained and to verify address.
  6. Students of local higher education institutions who are out-of-state residents may obtain a resident PPLD card. A student ID may be used as identification if the student resides in a dormitory. Colorado College, the Air Force Academy, the Olympic Training Center, and UCCS students are eligible.

Confidentiality

In accordance with Colorado state law, the Pikes Peak Library District requires that patron records and any other information that identifies a person as having used the library are confidential. PPLD's Confidentiality Policy approved by the Board of Trustees, April 24, 2001 states the Colorado law and provides basic guidelines to the staff for addressing confidentiality issues. This policy acknowledges that possession of a library card implies consent to provide information on the account, unless the staff have information to indicate that possession of the card was wrongfully obtained.

Please see Library Cards for more information.