Reviews of Teen Books

Palacio, R. J.
4 stars = Really Good
Review:

This was a sweet book. I loved Auggie's voice and how different parts of the book were narrated by different characters. I also loved the message, which was to always be kinder than necessary. A feel-good, quick read.

Reviewer's Name: vfranklyn
Yousafzai, Malala
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

A powerful look at a young girl's fight for education in Pakistan. Malala starts by filling us in on her country's history, from before colonization by the British through the Taliban takeover. All the while she and her father fight for girls' education. It's hard not to despair for her as she is fighting against such great odds, but her positive attitude reminds us that good can overcome evil. She wants every person in the world to be educated. Amen to that!

Reviewer's Name: vfranklyn
Green, John
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

I could say so many things about this book, but what I most want to say is that you should read it. Even when you're crying and want to put it down, you're laughing through your tears a few paragraphs later. Beautiful and memorable.

Reviewer's Name: Evan
Genres:
Sheinkin, Steve
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

Everything they probably taught you in middle school, but WAY more entertaining and fascinating! Steve Sheinkin wrote textbooks and then vowed to make it up to us with engaging narratives of history. The espionage, the intrigue, the science, and the implications of it all kept me returning to this Newbery Honor book. The many facts with which Sheinkin presents the reader are accessible as well as interesting, and the use of original photographs puts faces to names and gives perspective to the devastation caused by the weapons. Excellently cited, Sheinkin paves the way for researchers and history buffs young and old to continue their reading on this fascinating time in our nation's past.

Reviewer's Name: Evan
Genres:
Smith, Andrew
3 stars = Pretty Good
Review:

It was o.k. I felt like there was just not much of a plot until the very end, and then it just... ended. If the end (those of you who have read it know the "end" I'm talking about) would have been more toward the middle of the story, I think the book would have been more interesting.

Otherwise, it was a book about a teenager who is overly cocky to hide his insecurity. Nothing really new. Funny in parts, and not unreadable, just o.k.

Reviewer's Name: Krista
Genres:
Zusak, Markus
2 stars = Meh
Review:

This book was too long and the author tried too hard to make it deep and poetic. But I read the whole thing, so it wasn't bad. I liked hearing about Hitler's reign from a German non-Jew perspective. Death as a narrator was okay, I guess. I don't know, it just didn't really work for me. Also, although it's technically a teen book, I think it's more suited for adults.

Reviewer's Name: vfranklyn
Genres:
Riggs, Ransom
4 stars = Really Good
Review:

This was a really neat book. I really enjoyed the photos and the way they were woven together to make a fascinating story. I can imagine the author collecting odd photos and then constructing a story to link them all together. I wonder if there will be a sequel?

Reviewer's Name: vfranklyn
Roth, Veronica
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

Oh my gosh! This book was absolutely AWESOME! The storyboard was amazing! There is always something happening in this book whether it's action, adventure, romance, or sacrifice. I LOVED this book. I think I read it in one day! This is the book dystopian fiction lovers!

Reviewer's Name: Caroline
Davis, Bryan
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

Wow! This is one of my favorite books ever! It is engaging, interesting, and super WOW! I love that the dragons come to life off of the page, and they seam to make you feel like you could see one flying around if you looked closely! :) It also has values that promote good thoughts, and birth wonderful new ideas! This is one of my ultimate all time favorite book!
:)

Reviewer's Name: Emma
Genres:
Castle, Richard
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

Only one word could possibly describe this book....awesome. It was full of action and had a great balance of seriousness and humor. It had many twists and that were sometimes unexpected. I also thought it had a great, happy ending.

Reviewer's Name: Caitlyn
Genres:
Riordan, Rick
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

Percy Jackson and the Lighting Thief is maybe the most strange novel I have ever read. I started reading by the recommendation of a friend. She told me it was about the Greek gods in the modern world, and I was skeptical, yet it turned out to be one of the best books I've read. This story is fascinating and strung with believable characters, voice, intriguing plot and even villains that you care for. This story is a must-read!

Reviewer's Name: Hannah
Genres:
Davis, Bryan
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

Do you like fantasy? If you like fantasy weaved into every day life, you will love Raising Dragons and the rest of the Dragons in our Midst series. The book starts out with Billy Bannister who figures out he is the son of a dragon. Now, if you think this sounds strange and unrealistic, you will be surprised. Bryan Davis writes in such a convincing way that makes you almost wonder if there might be dragons in our midst.

Reviewer's Name: Hannah
Collins, Suzanne
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

This was one of the best books i have ever read. The passion and romance was perfectly portrade. The Capital could not have been shamed in a more perfect way. I love you Pita. Go Team Pita.

Reviewer's Name: Jorie
Genres:
Richards, Jame
3 stars = Pretty Good
Review:

Written in short verses, Three Rivers Rising is a fictional account of the disastrous Johnstown Flood that occurred in 1889. Several different characters are introduced, each on a different rung of the complex social hierarchy of the time, and each affected by the flooding in various ways.

The verse format seems to be catching on more in young adult literature, and though I do like how fast the book reads a result, I always feel like certain details don't get fleshed out well enough.

This story spends so much time examining people and their lives before the flood, but doesn't spend enough time describing the aftermath and how the survivors dealt with the incredible loss of life and property.

Reviewer's Name: ekendrick
Genres:
Aguirre, Ann
4 stars = Really Good
Review:

This dark, fast-paced thriller captures you on page one and doesn't let go until the end. The book is well-written, and one of the best dystopia novels I've ever read. The main character is a strong female lead, and the love interest actually seems real and interesting unlike other books. The book is about a girl who chooses to become a Huntress. This job entails hunting food, and slaying these zombie things called freaks. The setting is underground, and Deuce finds out secrets that are dangerous to the population. I recommend for 13 years and up, due to very graphic and dark scenes. I wouldn't call it scary though. This is a must-read for Fans of Divergent and Hunger Games It's the first in a trilogy, and the other two books are just as amazing as this one!

Reviewer's Name: Libby

Son

Lowry, Lois
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

What a truly AWESOME book. Filled with love, loss, adventure, and
creativity. I simply couldn't put it down!

Reviewer's Name: Caroline
Genres:
Zusak, Markus
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

This book is AMAZING. On my first read-through, I'll admit I did not have high expectations for it, and it started off a bit slow and confusing. The story quickly picks up though, and it's even more impressive (and makes more
sense) on rereads. It's about a girl growing up in Germany during World War II, and the story is brilliantly told. It's narrated by Death; a completely original idea. If you enjoy reading and writing, you should read this book: It describes the power of words and shows how a book can save your life - literally.

Reviewer's Name: Annie
Genres:
Alexie, Sherman
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

I love any and all things Sherman Alexie, but this book really stands out among his work. "True Diary" is totally relatable to anyone who has ever felt like they didn't quite fit in.

Reviewer's Name: Monterey
Clare, Cassandra
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

When I grabbed this book I could not put it down. It sent you into another world that was very different and very similar. One word to describe it: Amazing.

Reviewer's Name: Kileigh
Alexie, Sherman
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

Loved, loved, loved it!

Reviewer's Name: Krista

Pages