All Book Reviews

Castle, Richard
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

Only one word could possibly describe this book....awesome. It was full of action and had a great balance of seriousness and humor. It had many twists and that were sometimes unexpected. I also thought it had a great, happy ending.

Reviewer's Name: Caitlyn
Genres:
Riordan, Rick
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

Percy Jackson and the Lighting Thief is maybe the most strange novel I have ever read. I started reading by the recommendation of a friend. She told me it was about the Greek gods in the modern world, and I was skeptical, yet it turned out to be one of the best books I've read. This story is fascinating and strung with believable characters, voice, intriguing plot and even villains that you care for. This story is a must-read!

Reviewer's Name: Hannah
Genres:
Davis, Bryan
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

Do you like fantasy? If you like fantasy weaved into every day life, you will love Raising Dragons and the rest of the Dragons in our Midst series. The book starts out with Billy Bannister who figures out he is the son of a dragon. Now, if you think this sounds strange and unrealistic, you will be surprised. Bryan Davis writes in such a convincing way that makes you almost wonder if there might be dragons in our midst.

Reviewer's Name: Hannah
Cleary, Beverly
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

I like the book. It is a wonderful author.

Reviewer's Name: Isabel
Barrie, J.M.
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

From the moment Wendy realizes she'll grow up, to the very end when Peter stole Mrs. Darlings thimbles, this book was brilliant, sad, and filled with adventure. I loved that Tinker Bell was a a 'common' fairy and that Hook was more three dimensional and not an all evil figure. The narrative was beautiful, clever, and even a bit melancholy. Peter is the tragic figure here. But of course, he's fine and happy. I loved how Wendy's daughter and granddaughter played into the mix. Perhaps you stay young forever through your offspring.

Michael Hague illustrates this volume brilliantly.

Reviewer's Name: vfranklyn
Palahniuk, Chuck
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

Doomed was the amazing sequel to Damned by Chuck Palahniuk. He, being one of my favorite authors, has yet to let me down, though I admittedly have always been skeptical of sequels. There was nothing disappointing about Doomed. It fulfilled all the same curiosities, gruesome details, excitement and dark humour that Damned had. The series is an account, written by a 13-year old girl as blog entries (Damned was written as letters to Satan).
Madison Spencer died and was sent to Hell to pay for her earthly crimes. It details her heroism and her mission to save the rest of the planet from going to Hell as she did. It's very imaginative, easy to read, and captivating.

Reviewer's Name: Cassie
Genres:
Hillenbrand, Laura
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

Wow. This book was gripping! The resilience involved with surviving as a POW in Japan was amazing to me. Louie Zamperini is one-of-a-kind. There was a dogfight towards the beginning of the book which ended the life of "Super Man" that was so astonishingly realistic I literally could not put down the book. Awesome. I highly recommend this book as a portrait of the World War II psyche.

Reviewer's Name: vfranklyn
Dugard, Jaycee
4 stars = Really Good
Review:

Wow, this book was at times disturbing, perplexing, and heart-wrenching. It was interesting to hear about Jaycee's abduction from her point of view. I can see how it lasted 18 years as she was afraid of what would happen if she defied her abductor and as she wanted to protect her daughters. I couldn't help but feel for her mother, who must have been beside herself with worry. Jaycee is a very strong, brave, and resilient woman and I wish her the best.

Reviewer's Name: vfranklyn
Collins, Suzanne
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

This was one of the best books i have ever read. The passion and romance was perfectly portrade. The Capital could not have been shamed in a more perfect way. I love you Pita. Go Team Pita.

Reviewer's Name: Jorie
Genres:
Richards, Jame
3 stars = Pretty Good
Review:

Written in short verses, Three Rivers Rising is a fictional account of the disastrous Johnstown Flood that occurred in 1889. Several different characters are introduced, each on a different rung of the complex social hierarchy of the time, and each affected by the flooding in various ways.

The verse format seems to be catching on more in young adult literature, and though I do like how fast the book reads a result, I always feel like certain details don't get fleshed out well enough.

This story spends so much time examining people and their lives before the flood, but doesn't spend enough time describing the aftermath and how the survivors dealt with the incredible loss of life and property.

Reviewer's Name: ekendrick
Genres:
Campbell, Drusilla
4 stars = Really Good
Review:

This was a well-written portrait of an abused woman and her dependence on her boyfriend. I never understood how women could stay in abusive relationships, but this book showed how the situation can happen and how a woman can feel trapped, even deserving of such treatment. I didn't want to like the protagonist, after all she's assisting her boyfriend in an abduction that results in the stealing of the captive's newborn child. But she was a sympathetic character that grows with her friendship with Django. All in all, this is a good book that makes you think about abuse from the abused point of view.

Reviewer's Name: vfranklyn
Genres:
White, Randy Wayne
1 star = Yuck!
Review:

Waste of paper.

Reviewer's Name: Mike
Genres:
Aguirre, Ann
4 stars = Really Good
Review:

This dark, fast-paced thriller captures you on page one and doesn't let go until the end. The book is well-written, and one of the best dystopia novels I've ever read. The main character is a strong female lead, and the love interest actually seems real and interesting unlike other books. The book is about a girl who chooses to become a Huntress. This job entails hunting food, and slaying these zombie things called freaks. The setting is underground, and Deuce finds out secrets that are dangerous to the population. I recommend for 13 years and up, due to very graphic and dark scenes. I wouldn't call it scary though. This is a must-read for Fans of Divergent and Hunger Games It's the first in a trilogy, and the other two books are just as amazing as this one!

Reviewer's Name: Libby

Son

Lowry, Lois
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

What a truly AWESOME book. Filled with love, loss, adventure, and
creativity. I simply couldn't put it down!

Reviewer's Name: Caroline
Genres:
McCall Smith, Alexander
3 stars = Pretty Good
Review:

This was a good book. I enjoyed the adventures of Mma. Ramotswe. It was very insightful and funny and it was interesting to learn about Botswana and Africa in general. I'm not really a 'mystery' person, so that's mainly why it only got 3 stars.

Reviewer's Name: vfranklyn
Genres:
Funke, Cornelia
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

This fantasy by Cornelia Funke is very entertaining and quite mysterious. It goes from it's interesting title to a twist ending. If I were you I would definitely read this fabulous novel

Reviewer's Name: Weller
Genres:
Wall, Carolyn
3 stars = Pretty Good
Review:

This novel was engaging and the characters were realistic. The story line moved quickly. The ending was satisfying, but I was left questioning some of the characters' motivation for the choices made and what I might have done in their shoes. It isn't my usual choice in reading, but I don't regret the time I gave it. There were unexpected parts in the plot that kept my attention to the end. I tend to be cautious when I hand out stars. :)

Reviewer's Name: Angie
Genres:
Patterson, James
4 stars = Really Good
Review:

I've noticed lately that James Patterson has been collaborating with other authors. I hesitated at first, but was I in for a wonderful surprise. A story based around Spring Break, bad choices and clever ways to outwit your deadly past, I was hooked. I read this book in two days - I literally could not put it down. Is this a trend now with James Patterson? I enjoy him on his own, but applaud his venture into exploring new possibilities with other authors. Enjoy!!!

Reviewer's Name: Rebecca H.
Genres:
Tessaro, Kathleen
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

This book I happened upon from a review in a Woman's magazine. The title intrigued me as well as the plot of a woman who inherits money from an unknown benefactor. I would be proud to own this book so I could highlight many of the clever quotes within. I had to backtrack a little like I did with the DaVinci Code, but once you are hooked - you'll be glad to read and re-read this clever, witty and woman-inspiring story!!! Enjoy!

Reviewer's Name: Rebecca H.
Genres:
Zusak, Markus
5 stars = Bohemian Rhapsody Awesome!
Review:

This book is AMAZING. On my first read-through, I'll admit I did not have high expectations for it, and it started off a bit slow and confusing. The story quickly picks up though, and it's even more impressive (and makes more
sense) on rereads. It's about a girl growing up in Germany during World War II, and the story is brilliantly told. It's narrated by Death; a completely original idea. If you enjoy reading and writing, you should read this book: It describes the power of words and shows how a book can save your life - literally.

Reviewer's Name: Annie
Genres:

Pages